HomePlace-Based ForumGrantsRSP Grant Programs Announced for 2011-12

RSP Grant Programs Announced for 2011-12

The Rural Schools Partnership has announced its 2011-12 grant program, which is intended to emphasize place-based learning in schools and communities across southern Missouri.  Member schools, teachers and students are invited to submit proposals as well as teachers and students.

Coover Place-Based Education Grants: These grants provide support for innovative ventures focused on the tenets of place-based education. Proposals that include matching funds or other leveraged resources are encouraged. The grants range from $10,000 to $20,000 for the eight to 15 projects awarded annually. This program is made possible through the Louis L. and Julia Dorothy Coover Charitable Foundation Regional Grantmaking of Commerce Trust Company.

The application deadline is March 2, 2012; grants will be awarded at the annual Rural Schools Partnership conference in Thomasville, Mo., in the spring. No matching funds are required.

Conservation Grants: These grants are intended to engage students in community-based conservation projects.  Grant awards will range from $1,000-$2,000 for a total pool of $10,000-$15,000, depending on the quality and quantity of proposals.  This grant round is open to ALL Rural Schools Partnership schools, including those that received a conservation-related grant in previous years or grant rounds.

The application deadline is 5 p.m., Oct. 21, 2011 with notifications by Nov. 1.  Funded projects should be completed by Spring  2012, and grant reports will be due by June 1, 2012. Photographs and/or video of the project will be required for the grant reports.  No matching funds are required.

Contact Julie Leeth with any questions concerning the Rural Schools Partnership grants at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  or (417) 864-6199. This grant round is made possible by the Community Foundation of the Ozarks, its Stewardship Ozarks Initiative, and the Missouri Conservation Heritage Foundation.