HomeRural Teacher CorpsMissouri Association of Rural Education Celebrates 25th Anniversary and Announces Scholarship Program

Missouri Association of Rural Education Celebrates 25th Anniversary and Announces Scholarship Program

MARE logoThe Missouri Association of Rural Education recently held its 2012 MARE Conference on February 23-25 in Osage Beach, Missouri. The conference marked the 25th time the organization has convened to support rural schools and educators, and it was part of the organization’s ongoing 25th Anniversary celebration.  Ray Patrick, MARE executive director, reports, “Once again we had an excellent selection of programs/speakers. We want to express our appreciation to all that attended and participated in this year’s conference.”

During the conference MARE recognized a number of Outstanding Rural Education Award winners.  Annual awardees included:

Rural Elementary Teacher – Julie Forkner – Bronaugh R-VII

Rural Middle School Teacher – Carrie Livengood – Tarkio R-I

Rural Secondary Teacher – Jared Werges – Johnson Co. R-VII

Rural Building Administrator – Jan Seitz – Mound City R-II

Rural School Staff Member – Gayle Donley – Aurora R-VIII

Rural Secondary Student – Lauren Zitelman – Santa Fe R-X

Rural District Administrator – Patricia Phillips – Bronaugh R-VII

Rural School Board Member – Janet Barton – N. St. Francois Co. R-I

Rural School District – Taneyville R-II – Taneyville, MO

In addition, MARE has announced its annual scholarship program, with an application deadline of April 20, 2012.  Please note the following information:


The level of economic development of an area is directly related to the quality of education available.  To improve the economic development of rural Missouri, an adequate number of well-trained, dedicated teachers must be available to instruct in rural school districts.


The goals to be achieved through the Rural Missouri Scholarship Fund include:

  1. Attracting quality teachers to rural school districts

b. Improving the economic development of rural communities by upgrading the education system to provide a well-educated, skilled work force

  1. Attract intelligent, energetic individuals to furnish leadership skills in rural communities.


MARE’s scholarship committee has recommended the general criteria to include:

  1. Academic achievement

b. Leadership qualities

  1. Interest in teaching in a rural school system


Only junior and senior-level college students qualify as scholarship recipients.  (Eligible students are those who have successfully completed 60 credit hours and have declared a major in education.)

A scholarship recipient may reapply in a subsequent year for another scholarship.

Applicants must have achieved 2.5 grade point average of a 4.0 scale.

An essay describing the applicant’s connection, and interest in rural Missouri, and why they want to teach in a rural community is required.  This essay should be no more than two pages, double-spaced.

Applicants must also provide personal recommendations from one official from their home high school and two recommendations from college/university education professor’s.  These recommendations should include comments on the following:

  1. Leadership ability

b. Scholastic achievement

  1. Dependability

d. Ability to relate to students and faculty

  1. Potential for success as a rural teacher.

Copies of both high school and college transcripts are required with the application.

The application form includes such items as:

  1. What is the degree of your financial need?

b. How are you funding your education?

  1. What other scholarships have you been granted?

d. What is your major area of course study?

  1. In what activities have you participated while in school?  (Clubs, student government, sports, volunteerism, etc.)

Applicant agrees to be present at the MARE Summer Board Meeting (Saturday, July 28, 2012) to receive the award presentation.


MARE will contact Missouri colleges/universities offering teaching degrees, asking that each submit candidate applications.  The applications will be screened by the Scholarship Committee, which is responsible for naming scholarship recipients.


Dr. Ray V. Patrick, Exec. Director
MARE Scholarship Fund
Missouri Association of Rural Education
201 South Holden Street, Suite 202
Warrensburg, Missouri  64093-3400


Distribution to Colleges/Universities        03/14/2012
Application Deadline                                 04/20/2012 (Postmarked by)
Selection Meeting                                     First of May
ANTICIPATED MARE Announcement       May 18, 2012
Official Presentation                                 July 28, 2012

(Summer Board Meeting – Lake Ozark, MO)